Currently, Instagram is one of the most popular social media apps. This app is enjoyed by users because they can post different types of media to the audience of their choice. Users provide captions to their photos and videos that help them convey the message they want to convey.
The app also allows users to communicate privately through direct messages and private stories, which they can share with others of their choice. Because Instagram can be overwhelming, there are several ways you can take a break from the app instead of permanently deleting it.
Blocked, Disabled or Deleted
There are two ways to get rid of your Instagram account if you have grown tired of the service. The more permanent option is to delete your account. You will lose your username and everything you’ve posted if you delete your account. Your likes, followers, comments, and everything else on the account will be deleted. The account can’t be reactivated or reclaimed with the same username.
Disabling an account is less permanent and more suitable for shorter breaks. If you log back into your account, you will see your profile, comments, likes, and posts hidden until you reactivate your account. Your entire identity is hidden behind this profile temporarily to all users, but if you want to prevent specific users from viewing your account, then you can block them.
If you need to find someone’s account but you can’t find it, it’s likely they’ve deleted their account – but it’s more likely that they’ve disabled their account which is a temporary option you can restore. In order to determine whether someone is blocking you on Instagram, you will have to ask a friend if they can see their account or look them up using another account. In the event that you aren’t able to do this and are able to find their profile other than through a glitch, then you’ll see the User Not Found error.
How Do You Know if Someone Deactivated Their Instagram?
Most of the time, when you can’t message someone or see their profile, you assume they’ve blocked you, but this isn’t always the case. If someone deactivates their account, there are a few ways to determine that.
Ask Someone to look for the person’s account
You will not be able to see the profile of someone who has deactivated their account. You also won’t be able to see their profile if they have blocked you, so knowing that doesn’t help. It will help, however, if you ask someone else to check out the profile of that person. The other person should still be able to see that the person has a profile, even if it is private. If they search for the person’s account and don’t find a profile, either private or public, it means that the account has been deactivated.
Create Another Profile
Especially with the rise of “finstas” or fake Instagram accounts, it’s quite common to have multiple Instagram profiles. Obviously, if you already have another profile, then you’re good to go, but if you don’t, it’s not too difficult to create one. If you are asked to sign in, select the “Sign Up” option and add any information you want in the boxes. Remember the username and password you use.
View the profile of their new Instagram account. If their profile appears, then they’ve blocked you. If their profile doesn’t appear, then they’ve deactivated their account. If you don’t want anyone to look at the account for you, this is a great method.
Use your Web Browser
You can use this method if you remember the exact username of the profile.
1. Open your browser. You can use any web browser.
2. Go to https://www.instagram.com/ and paste this link in the address bar
3. After adding the link to the address bar, type the username of the person after the slash.
4. Once it’s done, hit the enter key.
If the account is deactivated, you will be redirected to an error page that says “Sorry, this page isn’t available.”.
This is how you can find out if someone deactivated their account.
Their Likes Disappear
It’s easy to know if someone has liked your pictures after they deactivate their Instagram account by checking their likes. They have deactivated their Instagram account if their likes are no longer in the liked section on the posts that they liked from you. Since Instagram doesn’t show deactivated accounts, it’s safe to assume they’ve deactivated their accounts if someone is proven to have liked a post and their account is gone.