How to delete your Instagram posts

According to Instagram’s reputation for being one of the easiest apps to use, the process of deleting a post is quite straightforward. 

You can delete a post on Instagram by following the steps below: 

1.Open the Instagram app. 

2.Navigate to your profile by clicking the person icon at the bottom-right corner of the screen. 

3.You can delete a photo by locating it. 

4.At the top-right corner of the screen, tap the three horizontal dots. 

5.After that, tap Delete. 

6.Once again, tap Delete to confirm.

  • You will be able to delete your Instagram post permanently following the steps listed above. Thus, the photo (or video), as well as any likes and comments it received, will be removed from your profile. 
  • There is a way to remove photos from your home feed without losing them forever if all of that sounds too final for you. 

How to remove an Instagram post with the possibility of recovery

Have you grown attached to that slightly blurry, unedited photo of you and your college buddies? If not, archive it instead of deleting it. 

Before 2017, the only way to remove unsightly photos from your profile was to delete them. As soon as Instagram Archive came out, the game changed forever. A photo could be hidden from the public (or private, depending on your privacy settings) view and stored in a safe place. 

Instagram offers a private gallery that you can only see if you have the app installed. No one else can access or see it. Probably the best part? Photos and videos can be archived just as easily as they can be deleted. Here’s how you can archive a post on Instagram: 

1.Open Instagram on your mobile device. 

2.Navigate to your profile by tapping the person icon at the bottom-right corner of the screen. 

3.You must locate the photo that you want to archive. 

4.On the top-right corner of the photo, tap the three horizontal dots. 

5.In the last step, select Archive.

Where do your photos go when you archive them? Here’s how you can access your private archive gallery: 

1.Open the Instagram app. 

2.Navigate to your profile by clicking the person icon at the bottom-right corner of the screen. 

3.Tap the three horizontal lines in the top-right corner. 

4.In the last step, select Archive. 

Voila – you’ve now accessed your archive gallery. All of your private photos are stored here, at least until you decide to make them public again. 

Unarchiving a photo won’t cause any problems. In the same place on your timeline where you deleted it from, it will reappear on your profile again. Nobody will be notified. 

Here’s how you can unarchive a photo: 

1.Go to Instagram and open it. 

2.Navigate to your profile by clicking the person icon at the bottom-right corner of the screen.

3.In the top-right corner, tap the three horizontal lines. 

4.Tap the Archive button. 

5.Locate the photo you wish to unarchive. 

6.Click on the three horizontal dots at the top right corner of the picture. 

7.Tap Show on the profile. 

Your formerly archived photo will reappear just as mysteriously as it disappeared. 

How to mass-delete your Instagram photos

The best way to wipe your social media slate clean would be to delete all your Instagram photos at once. What’s the problem? This feature is not available on Instagram. 

Many third-party apps are available to help you mass-delete photos. We’re going to show you precisely how to delete multiple Instagram posts using InstaClean, a free app available on the App Store. 

Follow these steps to mass-delete your photos with InstaClean: 

1.Open the InstaClean app. 

2.Sign in with your Instagram account. 

3.Allow InstaClean to access your Instagram account. 

4.Tap the Media button in the bottom-right corner of the screen.

5.You can delete as many photos as you want by tapping each image. 

6.On the screen, tap the trash can icon in the upper right corner. 

7.Select Delete. 

You can delete up to a certain number of photos based on how many “coins” you have. Whenever you install the app, you’re automatically given 50 coins. Additional coins or a subscription can be purchased subsequently. 

There are several iPhone apps that offer similar services, including Cleaner for IG and Cleaner for Ins.

Can you restore your deleted pictures?

You cannot access Instagram through the app itself. As of this writing, Instagram will only recover archival photos, not deleted ones. When you delete a post, it is permanently removed from the app and cannot be restored. 

Your old iPhone photos and videos may be gone, but you can still see the likes and comments from that post. If you have Original Photos enabled in the Instagram app, any photos or videos you take or post to your feed (in Stories) are automatically saved to  your Camera Roll. Your Camera Roll includes an album named Instagram where you can find that content. 

Here’s how you can enable Original Photos: 

1.Go to Instagram and open it. 

2.Navigate to your profile by clicking the person icon at the bottom-right corner of the screen.

3.In the top-right corner, tap the three horizontal lines. 

4.Go to Settings > Account > Original Photos.

5.By tapping the toggle button, you can enable the feature. 

A deleted Instagram post can also be found in your recently deleted folder in the Camera Roll. Photos and videos in that folder will remain there for 30 days after being deleted. 

Why can’t I delete my Instagram photos? 

Instagram should allow you to delete any of your photos, albeit individually. The Instagram website does not currently allow users to delete photos from their desktop. If you try to delete photos from the Instagram website on your desktop, you will not be able to do so. 

Additionally, you may have a version of Instagram that’s outdated. Make sure your Instagram app has an updated version in your App Store downloads. 

For further assistance, contact the Instagram Help Center if none of the above solutions work. 

That photo of a flower at an artsy angle you posted in 2012 doesn’t have to exist on your feed in 2020. By following some of the steps we laid out above, we hope you can edit and curate your home page with confidence — and with the delete button at your disposal. 

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply